Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court
1915 North Stiles Avenue « Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4918
210 Kerr State Office Building, 440 South Houston, Suite 210 « Tulsa, OK 74127
(405) 522-8600 « OKC (918) 581-2714 - TU (800) 522-8210 * In-state Toll Free

To: Workers’ Compensation Payors
From: Michael Clingman, Workers’ Compensation Court Administrator

Re: NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT RATE - July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 -
MULTIPLE INJURY TRUST FUND ASSESSMENT per Title 85 O.S., §403

Date: April 25,2013

The Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) assessment rate to be charged in accordance with 85 O.S.,
§403 for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 is five and eighteen one
hundredths percent (5.18%) of:

» gross direct premiums written for workers’ compensation for risks located in this state (for
insurance carriers and CompSource Oklahoma),

* normal premiums (for group self-insurance associations),

» actual paid losses (for individual self-insured employers).

The rate was calculated using a statutory formula. The formula involves dividing the total gross
direct written premium, normal premium and actual paid losses reported by workers’ compensation payors
for calendar year 2012 ($1,144,941,567) into $59,250,000 [the sum of the MITF’s outstanding obligations
for calendar year 2013 ($56,700,000), as reported by the Board of Managers of CompSource Oklahoma on
behalf of the MITF, and $2.55 Million fixed by law for funding various state programs related to worker
safety and workers’ compensation fraud prosecution].

Assessments are due on the 15" day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter and
are based on the payor’s premiums or losses (as applicable) during the quarter. The assessment due
on July 15, 2013 (for the period of April 1, 2013 through June 30, 2013) is to be calculated at the existing
three and thirty-nine one hundredths percent (3.39%) rate. The new five and eighteen one hundredths percent
(5.18%) rate applies beginning July 1, 2013 (i.e. the third quarter of calendar year 2013) until June 30, 2014.
The Workers” Compensation Court Administrator will provide notice of the assessment rate for subsequent
four-quarter periods by May 1 of each year. Quarterly reminder notices will NOT be provided.

A summary of the payment due dates and calculation of the assessment for the four-quarter period
of July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 follows:

Payment Due October 15, 2013 For the third quarter of calendar year 2013- Assessment
amount is 5.18% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the
period of July 1, 2013 through September 30, 2013

Payment Due January 15, 2014 For the fourth quarter of calendar year 2013- Assessment



amount is 5.18% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the
period of October 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013

Payment Due April 15, 2014 For the first quarter of calendar year 2014- Assessment
Amount is 5.18% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for
the period of January 1, 2014 through March 31, 2014.

Payment Due July 15, 2014 For the second quarter of calendar year 2014- Assessment
amount is 5.18% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the
period of April 1, 2014 through June 30, 2014.

The Workers” Compensation Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form may be
accessed by linking directly with the Tax Commission’s web site at www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html.
Complete the report, and mail it and your remittance by the appropriate due date to:

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION
Account Maintenance Division
Special Taxes
2501 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73194-0004

Retain a copy of the completed report for your records. Failure to timely remit the assessment, or
to notify that payment was made, may result in administrative penalties, including but not limited to, the
greater of $500 or 1% of the unpaid amount. By law, notice of each assessment payment must be given to
the Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner (if you are an insurance carrier or CompSource Oklahoma) or to the
Workers’ Compensation Court Administrator (if you are an individual self-insured employer or group self-
insurance association). Mail notice of payment as instructed at the bottom of your Workers’ Compensation
Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form.

Direct questions about the assessment rate to Mike Andreatta or Richard Fisher, 405-522-8600.
Direct questions about remittance of the assessment to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Account
Maintenance Division, 405-521-3938. Direct questions about refunds and the tax rebate related to the
assessment to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Taxpayer Assistance Division, 405-521-3160.

NOTE: State law permits a 2/3rds rebate of MITF assessments paid each tax year. The request form for
the rebate is available by linking directly with the Tax Commission’s web site at
www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html. To avoid a ten percent (10%) reduction in the amount of the rebate for

assessments paid for the preceding tax year, submit the rebate to the Oklahoma Tax Commission
annually by May 31.
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